• img
  • img
  • img
  • Guide
  • Transportation
  • Hotel
  • Sightseeing
  • Meals

Ladakh Himalaya

Sometimes known as ‘Little Tibet’, the Union Territory of Ladakh is an ancient kingdom in north-west India, bordering Pakistan and the Tibet Autonomous Region. The Union Territory of Ladakh has two districts Leh and Kargil. No special permit is required to visit most of Ladakh, including Leh and Kargil towns. Permits are required for all tourists to visit the "Inner Line" areas, i.e. Nubra Valley; Panggong Lake and the Durbuk Block that it lies in (i.e. north of the Changla Pass); Tso-Moriri and Tsokar Lakes and the area along the Indus River east of Upshi; and Dha-hanu and the area along the Indus River northwest of Khalatse. Permits are not available for foreigners to go to the far reaches of each of the areas close to the borders (or Line of Control, etc.) with Pakistan and China.

Among the places of tourist interest include LehDrass valley, Razi khar (Chiktan Khar), Suru valley, KargilZangskarZanglaRangdumPadum, Phukthal, Sani Monastery, Stongdey, Shayok Valley, Sankoo, Salt Valley. Treks include Manali to Ladakh, the Nubra valley, Pangong tso, Tso moriri, the Indus valley[3]Markha valley, Ladakh monastery trek, South Zangskar, Trans-Zangskar Expedition, Spiti to Ladakh, Spiti to Pitok to Hemis, Rupshu, the Great Salt lakes, Chadar Ice trek[4], Padum-Phuktal, Padam to Darcha, Panikhar to Heniskot, Padum to Manali, Lamayuru-Martselang, Lamayuru - Alchi, Kala Pattar trek, Pahal.

Related Trips